Skip to main content


Lincoln Management


Lincoln Management

Senior Management's role is to ensure that the university meets a range of expectations. These include educational quality and relevance, as well as development goals.

The Vice-Chancellor undertakes the role of Chief Executive Officer of Lincoln University. This role is supported by the Senior Management Group.

The Vice-Chancellor is responsible for academic leadership, advancing the interests of the university (particularly through strategic planning, developing culture, values and motivation, and optimising outputs from available resources) and for employing staff.

He or she reports to Council on the achievement of agreed objectives, which relate to the overall operation of the university and to issues of academic quality.

The key activities of the university are managed by the Vice-Chancellor through delegations to senior managers.

Senior Management Group:

? Professor Bruce McKenzie, Acting Vice-Chancellor
? Professor James McWha, Provost, Chancellor Children’s University
? Professor Grant Edwards, Deputy Vice-Chancellor
? Dr Lorraine Petelo, Assistant Vice-Chancellor (Teaching & Learning), Chair Academic Board)
? Dr Dione Payne, Assistant Vice-Chancellor (Māori and Pasifika)
? Phil O'Callaghan, Chief Operating Officer
? Karen McEwan, Executive Director, People, Culture and Wellbeing
? Stuart Reilly, Acting Executive Director, Campus Life
? Professor Greg Ryan, Proctor
? Amrapali MacDonald, Proctor

Additional members (extended):

? Professor Hugh Bigsby, Dean, Faculty of Agribusiness and Commerce
? Associate Professor Roland Harrison, Dean, Faculty of Agriculture and Life Sciences
? Associate Professor Roslyn Kerr, Dean, Faculty of Environment, Society and Design
? Professor Caroline Saunders, Director, AERU
? Howard Gant, Finance Director
? Dr Lorraine Petelo, Chair, Academic Board
? Professor Travis Glare, Director, Bio-Protection Research Centre
? Kate Flower, Director, Student and Stakeholder Engagement, Customer Engagement and Insights
? Kevin Hurren, Director, Research Management Office

Contact details:


Telephone: 03 325 3820